The Return

I’m ever so slowly working my way back to the project. Though I haven’t kept up with reading and updating this past month, rest assured that my mind has been focused on all things Shakespearean. To be quite honest, it seems the universe hasn’t let me do anything else! I’ll explain a bit more in-depth later on. For now, I just wanted to share this gem:

Hiddleston Shakespeare meme
My next couple of posts are likely to be Hiddleston-rich, so bear with me! Coming up: my thoughts on The Donmar Warehouse production of Coriolanus, and a discussion of the controversy surrounding Shakespeare’s identity as inspired by the film Only Lovers Left Alive.

3 comments

  1. Glad to have you back, compadre. You were missed!

    What “rules” have you self-imposed? Any deadlines?. Has the meter been running or have you reset the clock?

    Anyway, welcome back!

    1. Hey! Thanks 🙂 I’ve missed being here!
      No “rules” as of yet…I’m keeping things relatively casual for now.
      I’ve found that I’m actually more likely to read/write when I’m doing it because I want to–
      when I’m excited about it and I have something to say (as opposed to feeling obligated).
      That said, I’ve spoken enough about the project that I’ve gotten other people excited about it,
      so I do feel some obligation to keep up and to post on a regular basis.
      Ideally, I’d be posting every day. Lord knows I’ve got more than enough material to work with!
      I’m just not certain yet that I can sustain that pace, and I don’t want to set myself up for failure, ya know?
      For now, the plan is to write up the two posts I’ve got bouncing around in my head (re: Coriolanus and the whole
      ‘Who was Shakespeare, *really*?’ debate, which I see you’ve already touched on!), then
      work through your posts to see what I’ve missed this month, jumping in on discussion when/if I’ve got something to add.
      I see you’ve been working through “The Taming of the Shrew”. I’d love to try and jump in here, if
      only because I’m giddy at the opportunity to work in a discussion of “10 Things I Hate About You”.
      What is your schedule looking like for the next few weeks?

      I’ve been thinking increasingly that (due to the abundance of material) this project will likely extend well beyond a year, for me.
      There’s just too much that I want to touch on!

      1. Right. That’s why I called them “self-imposed” limits, because you realize sooner than later that the terms arise from your own head. (Though A Year of Shakespeare implies what it says while Shakespeare365 suggests more a life filled with the Bard.)

        From my perspective, you couldn’t be jumping back in at a better time. I’m fascinated by the m-f relationships in Taming. I have tried to find evidence for Shakespeare-as-misogynist interpretations but I just don’t see it. He has created far too many smart, strong, clever women elsewhere. And even within the play, I am convinced that appearances are deceiving.

        I have fallen slightly behind schedule and will have to make up ground elsewhere. But I have knowingly built leisure into the plan for the bigger plays. 38 plays over 52 weeks means roughly 3 per month…which isn’t bad. I want to linger with the poems and sonnets though, which means I’ll need to keep apace.

        I still have Love’s Labour’s Lost and The Two Gentlemen of Verona this month…which shows you how behind I am. Then come the history plays in chronological rather than written order.

        Yeah, it’s ambitious. But as I posted earlier, Shakespeare is helping expose and eliminate my woeful ignorance of English history. Richard III made that point very clear. But by using his plays and one of the Great Courses, I plan on fixing it.

        That’s the hope, anyway. Like the San Francisco trolley, feel free to hop on and hop off as inspiration strikes.

        Though if you want homework, a woman’s perspective on Kate and Petruchio would be lovely. 🙂

Leave a Reply

